The Jesuit New World Order

Tuesday, 15 May 2012



Archives Higher Education Laws and Regulations Jesuit Alumni in the Obama Administration and 112th U.S. Congress Reauthorization Student Aid Success Stories

 Jesuit Alumni in the Obama Administration and 112th U.S. Congress
WASHINGTON, DC - Ten percent of the 112th U.S. Congress are Jesuit college and university alumni/ae. Among the 535 Members of this Congress, 54 of them are alumni/ae of Jesuit institutions. At least 30 alums also serve in appointed positions in the Obama Administration.
There are 12 Jesuit alumni/ae in the Senate and 42 in the House of Representatives. Among the top leadership, Congressmen John Boehner (R-OH) is serving as Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Congressman Steny Hoyer (D-MD) serves as the House Minority Whip. In the Senate, Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL) continues as the Assistant Majority Leader.
Of these 54 alumni/ae, 36 received graduate or professional degrees from Jesuit universities. There are 18 Jesuit institutions represented by alumni/ae in the U.S. Congress. Georgetown University has the most alumni/ae with a total of 18; followed by Boston College with 7; the College of the Holy Cross and Fordham University each tied with 4; while Creighton University, Marquette University, and the University of Detroit Mercy each have 3.
"With the many challenges facing our nation, we are happy that our Jesuit college and university alumni/ae continue to play important roles in Congress and the Administration,” said AJCU President Fr. Charles Currie, S.J. “Their commitment to lead and to serve is in the best Jesuit tradition.”
Obama Administration Complementing the congressional representation are the approximately 30 alumni from the 28 Jesuit colleges and universities currently serving in appointed positions to President Barack Obama. Members of the Obama administration from AJCU institutions include Department of Defense Secretary Robert M. Gates (Georgetown University, 1974, PhD), Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet A. Napolitano (Santa Clara University, 1979, BA), Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) Director Leon E. Panetta (Santa Clara University, 1960, BA), Office of Management and Budget Director Jacob Lew (Georgetown University, 1983, JD), and White House Chief of Staff William Daley (Loyola University Chicago, 1970, BA).
From the Department of Education are Under Secretary Martha Kanter (University of San Francisco, 1989, EdD), Assistant Secretary for Legislation and Congressional Affairs Gabriella Gomez (Loyola Marymount University, 1995, BA) and Office of Legislation and Congressional Affairs Deputy Assistant Secretary Julius Lloyd Horwich (Georgetown University, 1986, BSFS).
In the Department of Labor is Assistant Secretary for Employment and Training, Jane Oates (Boston College, 1975, BA).

Senator John Barrasso
(R-WY) Appointed 2007, Elected 2008
B.A. Georgetown University (1974)
M.D. Georgetown University (1978)
Senator Scott Brown
(R-MA) Elected 2010
J.D. Boston College (1984)
Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.
(D-PA) Elected 2006
B.A. College of the Holy Cross (1982)
Senator Richard J. Durbin
(D-IL) Elected 1996
B.S.F.S. Georgetown University (1966)
J.D. Georgetown University (1969)
Senator Michael (Mike) Johanns
(R-NB) Elected 2008
J.D. Creighton University (1974)
Senator John F. Kerry
(D-MA) Elected 1984
J.D. Boston College (1976)
Senator Patrick J. Leahy
(D-VT) Elected 1974
J.D. Georgetown University (1964)
Senator Mark Steven Kirk(R-IL) Elected 2010
J.D. Georgetown University (1992)
Senator Robert Menendez
(D-NJ) Appointed & Elected 2006
B.A. Saint Peter's College (1976)
Senator Barbara A. Mikulski
(D-MD) Elected 1986
B.A. Loyola University Maryland (1958)
Senator Lisa Murkowski
(R-AK) Appointed 2002, Elected 2004
B.A. Georgetown University (1980)
Senator Jim Webb
(D-VA) Elected 2006
J.D. Georgetown University (1975)
Representative Steve Austria
(R-OH) Elected 2008
B.A. Marquette University (1982)
Representative Timothy H. Bishop
(D-NY) Elected 2002
B.A. College of the Holy Cross (1972)
Representative John A. Boehner
(R-OH) Elected 1990
B.S. Xavier University (1977)
Representative Vern Buchanan
(R-FL) Elected 2006
M.B.A. University of Detroit Mercy (1986)
Representative Ann Marie Buerkle(R-NY) Elected 2010
B.S. Le Moyne College (1977)
Representative Francisco "Quico" Canseco(R-TX) Elected 2010
B.A. Saint Louis University (1972)
Representative Michael Capuano
(D-MA) Elected 1998
J.D. Boston College (1977)
Representative David Cicilline(D-RI) Elected 2010
J.D. Georgetown University (1986)
Representative Hansen Clarke(D-MI) Elected 2010
J.D. Georgetown University (1987)
Representative Henry Cuellar
(D-TX) Elected 2005
B.S. Georgetown University (1978)
Representative John D. Dingell
(D-MI) Elected 1955
B.A. Georgetown University (1949)
J.D. Georgetown University (1952)
Representative Jeff Fortenberry
(R-NE) Elected 2004
M.A. Georgetown University (1986)
Representative Paul Gosar(R-AZ) Elected 2010
B.S. Creighton University (1981)
D.D.S. Creighton University (1985)
Representative Mazie K. Hirono
(D-HI) Elected 2006
J.D. Georgetown University (1978)
Representative Steny H. Hoyer
(D-MD) Elected 1981
J.D. Georgetown University (1966)
Representative William Keating(D-MA) Elected 2010
B.A. Boston College (1974)
M.B.A. Boston College (1982)
Representative Jeff Landry(R-LA) Elected 2010
J.D. Loyola University New Orleans (2004)
Representative Frank A. LoBiondo
(R-NJ) Elected 1994
B.S. Saint Joseph's University (1968)
Representative Zoe Lofgren
(D-CA) Elected 1994
J.D. Santa Clara University (1975)
Representative Daniel E. Lungren
(R-CA) Elected 2004
J.D. Georgetown University (1971)
Representative Stephen Lynch
(D-MA) Elected 2000
J.D. Boston College (1991)
Representative Donald Manzullo
(R-IL) Elected 1992
J.D. Marquette University (1970)
Representative Edward J. Markey
(D-MA) Elected 1976
B.A. Boston College (1968)
J.D. Boston College (1972)
Representative Thaddeus McCotter
(R-MI) Elected 2002
B.A. University of Detroit Mercy (1987)
J.D. University of Detroit Mercy (1991)
Representative Gwen Moore
(D-WI) Elected 2004
B.A. Marquette University (1978)
Representative James P. Moran
(D-VA) Elected 1990
B.A. College of the Holy Cross (1967)
Representative Mick Mulvaney(R-SC) Elected 2010
B.S. Georgetown University (1989)
Representative Timothy F. Murphy
(R-PA) Elected 2002
B.A. Wheeling Jesuit University (1974)
Representative Jerrold Nadler
(D-NY) Elected 1992
J.D. Fordham University (1978)
Representative Bill Owens(D-NY) Appointed 2009, Elected 2010
J.D. Fordham University (1974)
Representative William J. Pascrell Jr.
(D-NJ) Elected 1996
B.A. Fordham University (1959)
M.A. Fordham University (1961)
Representative Gary Peters
(D-MI) Elected 2008
M.B.A. University of Detroit Mercy (1984)
 Representative Michael Quigley
(D-IL) Elected 2009
J.D. Loyola University Chicago (1989)
Representative Robert C. Scott
(D-VA) Elected 1992
J.D. Boston College (1973)
 Representative Albio Sires
(D-NJ) Elected 2006
B.A. Saint Peter's College (1974)
Representative Adam Smith
(D-WA) Elected 1996
B.A. Fordham University (1987)
 Representative Lee Terry
(R-NE) Elected 1998
J.D. Creighton University (1987)
Representative Chris Van Hollen Jr.
(D-MD) Elected 2002
J.D. Georgetown University (1990)
 Representative Peter J. Visclosky
(D-IN) Elected 1984
L.L.M. Georgetown University (1982)
Representative Peter Welch
(D-VT) Elected 2006
A.B. College of the Holy Cross (1969)
Representative Frank Wolf
(R-VA) Elected 1980
J.D. Georgetown University (1965)
Representative Lynn Woolsey
(D-CA) Elected 1992
B.S. University of San Francisco (1980)
  Bold names indicate new members

  click on a title below to open article and websites Language  /Langue/Idioma

Union / Unión

News / Nouvelles / Noticias

Contact - Intranet


No comments:

Post a Comment